Origami Iris Crane

There’s a saying if you don’t like the weather in Michigan, wait 10 minutes. LOL. But in the past week we have had unseasonably bizarre weather. It was 19º (F) out just a week or so ago and a few days later it was 70º (F).

instagram-miniature-origami-artist-stacie-tamaki

Yesterday I noticed the new bulbs I purchased at Hollanders last autumn were breaking forth and pushing up through the softened, warmed dirt. “Hmmm” (I thought to myself) “I wonder when the iris’ will make their first appearance?”

 

origami-iris-practice-prototypes

Which got me thinking about flowers and the traditional Iris origami model. I’d always wanted to make one and add the yellow beard to the petals but just never got around to it. But last night, just as I was falling asleep, I saw a picture in my head of a dark purple origami crane with finely cut yellow paper attached to the wings, neck, and tail to create the beards. So this morning when I awoke I made it.

I have no doubt the inspiration and gumption to actually make it came from following Cristian Marianciuc (aka icarus.mid.air) on Instagram. Cristian creates the most incredibly creative embellished origami cranes you can possibly imagine. If you’ve never seen his work CLICK HERE to go take a peek, I’ll wait.

I did make a couple of large iris decades ago but none since then. I went on Google to find instructions and took two practice runs (they aren’t very pretty but they are what they are) before creating the final piece.

tinygami-miniature-origami-iris-flower

Gluing the beards, made of finely snipped paper, down was fairly simple.

It kind of made the crane look like a horse with a mane. Or a really funky crane wearing a mohawk. Either way, I loved the way it turned out. I’m always so happy when the pictures in my head are brought to fruition. It’s a very good feeling. This morning I said to Fred “I think my creative mojo is back!” After showing him this piece he agreed.

To show scale (2 5/8″ high) I used a wine cork as my planting medium. So cute! It even stands up on its own. The leaf and stem combination is an original design. It’s true what they say about necessity being the mother of invention.

You can expect to see a field of theses little beauties incorporated into one of my ArtPrize mobiles this fall. I’m very excited to make more of them!

Leave a Reply

